By Saif | August 2026
Most UAE free zone founders budget for corporate tax as a percentage of profit. That is the wrong mental model for the first few years. A Qualifying Free Zone Person pays 0% on Qualifying Income — but it still pays, every single year, for the machinery that proves it qualifies. That machinery is the real free zone corporate tax compliance cost 2026 line in your budget, and unlike the tax itself it does not scale down when profits do.
It is also the line that changed most this year. Ministerial Decision No. 84 of 2025 made an audit unavoidable for every Qualifying Free Zone Person regardless of revenue, and Federal Tax Authority Decision No. 6 of 2026 added an entirely new, separately purchased assurance report for one large group of free zone traders. This guide prices the whole stack: what the FTA charges, what your zone forces you to buy, what the private market charges, and what non-compliance costs.
What does the Federal Tax Authority actually charge you?
Almost nothing. This is the single most misunderstood part of the free zone corporate tax compliance cost 2026 conversation: the government is not where the money goes.
Corporate tax registration is completed through EmaraTax and carries no registration fee. Filing the annual return carries no filing fee. There is no charge for maintaining your Tax Registration Number and no annual renewal payment to the FTA for corporate tax purposes. What the FTA charges for is failure — every meaningful number on the authority’s side of the ledger is a penalty, which means your exposure to it is almost entirely within your control.
| Cost line | Who charges it | Is it avoidable? |
|---|---|---|
| Corporate tax registration (EmaraTax) | FTA | No fee charged |
| Annual corporate tax return filing | FTA | No fee charged |
| Audited financial statements | Private audit firm | No — mandatory for every QFZP |
| Agreed-upon procedures report | Private audit firm | Only if you distribute from a Designated Zone |
| Bookkeeping and accounting | Private firm or in-house | No — records must be kept seven years |
| Tax agent or adviser | Private firm | Yes — optional, not a legal requirement |
| Zone-level filing of accounts | Free zone authority | No — set by your zone’s rules |
| Administrative penalties | FTA | Yes — entirely |
A consultant who bundles “FTA registration fees” into a corporate tax package is charging you for their time, not for a government fee, and you are entitled to ask which is which.
Why does a free zone company pay for an audit when a mainland company often does not?
Because the threshold that protects small mainland companies does not protect you. This is the structural reason free zone compliance costs more, and it is written into a single article of a single decision.
Ministerial Decision No. 84 of 2025 on Audited Financial Statements, issued 25 March 2025 and applying to tax periods commencing on or after 1 January 2025, requires audited financial statements from two categories: a taxable person that is not a tax group and derives revenue exceeding AED 50,000,000 in the relevant tax period, and — separately, with no threshold attached — a Qualifying Free Zone Person. It repealed Ministerial Decision No. 82 of 2023, which continues to apply only to tax periods that commenced before 1 January 2025. Tax groups face their own requirement: audited special purpose financial statements, in the form and by the procedures the FTA specifies.
| Business profile | Revenue AED 800,000 | Revenue AED 12 million | Revenue AED 60 million |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mainland LLC, not a tax group | No audit required | No audit required | Audit required |
| Free zone company claiming QFZP status | Audit required | Audit required | Audit required |
| Free zone company not claiming QFZP | No audit required | No audit required | Audit required |
| Any tax group | Audited special purpose statements | Audited special purpose statements | Audited special purpose statements |
The third row is the one founders miss, and it contains a real strategic choice. A free zone company with modest revenue and little genuine Qualifying Income can decline QFZP status, accept the ordinary corporate tax treatment, and fall below the AED 50 million audit threshold entirely. Whether that is sensible depends on how much of your income actually qualifies — our reference list of UAE free zone qualifying activities for 0% corporate tax is the right place to test that before you commit either way.
One correction worth making explicitly, because it circulates constantly: a Qualifying Free Zone Person does not receive the AED 375,000 zero-rate band that ordinary businesses get. Its non-qualifying taxable income is taxed at 9% from the first dirham. The 0% applies to Qualifying Income, not to a slice of everything.
What is the new agreed-upon procedures report, and who has to buy one?
This is the genuinely new free zone corporate tax compliance cost in 2026, and it has not yet reached most fee quotes.
Federal Tax Authority Decision No. 6 of 2026, issued 2 June 2026 and applying to tax periods commencing on or after 1 January 2026, sets additional procedures for a Qualifying Free Zone Person engaged in the qualifying activity of distributing goods or materials in or from a Designated Zone. If that is you, an audit is no longer enough. You must also obtain an agreed-upon procedures report from an independent external auditor — either the one who audits your financial statements, or another auditor licensed in the UAE.
The report must be prepared under International Standard on Related Services (ISRS) 4400, Agreed-Upon Procedures Engagements. It is a second, separate engagement with its own scope, fieldwork and fee. It must document procedures demonstrating two things: that your customers resell, process or alter the goods you supply rather than consume them, and that goods entering the UAE, where you imported them, came in through a Designated Zone.
The deadline is easy to miss because it is not your return deadline. The report goes to the FTA no later than 30 days after the deadline for filing the corporate tax return for the relevant tax period, unless the authority sets another date. The consequence of missing it is not a fine: under Article 2(8) of the decision the relevant conditions are simply not considered to be met, which puts your distribution income, and with it your QFZP status, at risk. That is a far more expensive outcome than any penalty in the schedule below.
The sampling is defined, so the fee is estimable
Unusually, the decision fixes the sample sizes rather than leaving them to the auditor, which means you can sanity-check a quote. The sample size is the sample population divided by one plus the sample population multiplied by the square of the margin of error, and the margin of error is set at 10%. Samples must be drawn from the highest-value transactions, and the selected samples must be listed in an appendix to the report.
| Customers or imports in the tax period | Items the auditor must sample |
|---|---|
| 25 | 20 |
| 50 | 33 |
| 100 | 50 |
| 250 | 71 |
| 500 | 83 |
| 1,000 | 91 |
The curve flattens hard. A distributor with a thousand customers samples only twenty more files than one with two hundred and fifty, so the incremental cost of scale on this particular report is modest. What drives the fee is not your size but your record-keeping: the decision expects you to have already collected customer trade licences, signed reseller declarations, sales agreements, import declarations, customs clearance documents and shipping documents. If the auditor has to assemble that evidence for you, you are paying professional rates for filing.
Compare UAE Freezone costs instantly → Price the compliance stack alongside the licence, not after it. The cheapest licence in the UAE stops being cheap the moment it forces an audit you did not budget for.
How do the free zones themselves differ on filing accounts?
Federal law tells you whether you must be audited. Your free zone tells you what you must hand over, to whom, and by when — and the zones genuinely diverge here. This is where a zone choice made purely on licence price starts to cost real money.
Three of the largest zones publish their rules, and the differences are material.
| Requirement | DMCC | IFZA | RAKEZ |
|---|---|---|---|
| What must be filed | Audited financial statements plus a signed, stamped Summary Sheet | Financial statements, simplified or audited depending on size | Renewal checklist does not list financial statements |
| Deadline | Within six months of financial year end | At each trade licence renewal, annually | Set by the licence renewal cycle |
| Who may sign | Only an auditor on the DMCC Approved Auditors List | Any registered UAE auditor | Not specified in the renewal checklist |
| Small-company relief | None — applies to all members, including subsidiaries and branches | Simplified statements if turnover is AED 3m or less and nine employees or fewer | Not specified in the renewal checklist |
| Submission route | DMCC Member Portal, Compliance Services | With the renewal application | Portal 360 renewal service request |
Two of those rows drive cost directly.
DMCC’s Approved Auditors List restricts supply. Under the Approved Auditors Rules, it is the member company’s responsibility to ensure its auditor is registered with DMCCA and appears on the list, and a report from an unlisted firm is not accepted. Restricting the pool of firms that may sign has the predictable effect on price. The rules do not apply to auditors of DMCC branch companies that have a group auditor — a narrow but useful exemption if you are a branch of an audited parent.
IFZA‘s simplified route is a genuine exemption from audit fees, and it is the most valuable small-company concession published by any major zone. Since 30 September 2025, all IFZA licensees, whether an FZCO or a branch, submit financial statements at every trade licence renewal, covering the most recently completed financial year. But a company whose turnover was AED 3 million or less and which had nine or fewer employees at any point in that year may submit a Simplified Financial Statement instead of audited accounts, on IFZA’s own template. Both tests must be met, and no other format is accepted. An employee, for this purpose, is anyone working under an executed employment contract, whether directly sponsored or not.
Note the interaction that catches people out: IFZA’s simplified route is a zone concession. It does not override Ministerial Decision No. 84 of 2025. An IFZA company with AED 2 million turnover and four staff may satisfy IFZA with a simplified statement and still need a full audit for corporate tax purposes the moment it claims QFZP status. Two different regulators, two different tests, one company.
IFZA also publishes the accounting standard tiers it expects, which follow the corporate tax law: cash basis where annual turnover is AED 3 million or less, IFRS for SMEs above AED 3 million and below AED 50 million, and full IFRS above AED 50 million. Our guide to UAE free zone audited accounts and who must file works through the mechanics zone by zone.
What do the private-sector fees actually come to?
Here the honest answer is a range, not a price list. Audit, bookkeeping and tax agency are competitive private services in the UAE with no published or regulated tariff, and any article quoting a single precise figure is quoting one firm’s proposal. The figures below are indicative market ranges observed for small and mid-sized free zone companies in 2026. Treat them as a bracket for sanity-checking quotes, not as a schedule of charges.
| Service | Indicative annual range (AED) | What moves the number |
|---|---|---|
| Bookkeeping, low transaction volume | 4,000 – 12,000 | Transaction count, bank accounts, currencies |
| Statutory audit, small free zone company | 5,000 – 15,000 | Revenue, inventory, group structure, whether the zone restricts auditors |
| Statutory audit, mid-sized trading company | 15,000 – 40,000 | Transaction volume, stock counts, related-party dealings |
| ISRS 4400 agreed-upon procedures report | New engagement — obtain a separate quote | Sample size, quality of your customer and import documentation |
| Corporate tax return preparation | 3,000 – 15,000 | Complexity, transfer pricing, QFZP analysis |
| Registered tax agent retainer | Optional | Not legally required; priced on scope |
Two rows in that table deserve a note. The agreed-upon procedures report is deliberately left without a range: it is a 2026 requirement, the market has not settled, and inventing a number would be worse than admitting the gap. Get it quoted separately and early, and ask whether your statutory auditor will take on both engagements. The tax agent retainer is marked optional because nothing in the corporate tax law requires you to appoint one.
Where advisory fees genuinely earn their keep is the de minimis test. A QFZP’s non-qualifying revenue must not exceed the lower of AED 5,000,000 or 5% of total revenue. Companies rarely breach that on volume — they breach it because a single transaction with a natural person, or an activity that turns out not to be on the qualifying list, is reclassified after the fact.
What does getting it wrong actually cost?
The administrative penalties are fixed by Cabinet Decision No. 75 of 2023, as amended by Cabinet Decision No. 10 of 2024, and they have applied since 1 August 2023. They are worth reading as a budget item, because several accrue monthly and quietly outgrow the professional fees you were trying to avoid.
| Violation | Penalty (AED) |
|---|---|
| Failure to submit a tax registration application on time | 10,000 |
| Failure to keep the required records | 10,000; 20,000 if repeated within 24 months |
| Failure to submit records in Arabic when requested | 5,000 |
| Late submission of a tax return | 500 per month for the first twelve months, then 1,000 per month from the thirteenth |
| Failure to settle payable tax | 14% per annum, applied monthly on the unsettled amount |
| Submitting an incorrect tax return | 500, unless corrected before the filing deadline |
| Voluntary disclosure of an error | 1% per month on the tax difference |
| Late deregistration application | 1,000, repeating monthly, capped at 10,000 |
| Failure to inform the FTA of a change to your tax record | 1,000; 5,000 if repeated within 24 months |
| Failure to facilitate a tax auditor | 20,000 |
Now put the arithmetic next to the fees. A company that skips an AED 8,000 audit and files late for a year pays AED 6,000 in monthly return penalties, and from month thirteen the rate doubles. If it also missed registration, add AED 10,000 flat. The saving disappears inside the first year, and that is before any tax is assessed.
The largest number in this article, though, is not in the penalty table at all. Failing a QFZP condition costs you the 0% rate for that tax period and the four subsequent tax periods, five in total. For a company with meaningful qualifying income, five years at 9% instead of 0% dwarfs every audit fee, every adviser retainer and every penalty listed above, combined. That is the sum an audit is actually protecting.
What should a free zone company budget for the year?
Combining the mandatory items with mid-range market pricing gives three realistic profiles. The FTA’s own share of every one of them is zero.
| Profile | Mandatory items | Indicative annual total (AED) |
|---|---|---|
| IFZA company, AED 2m turnover, four staff, not claiming QFZP | Bookkeeping, simplified statements on the IFZA template, CT return | 7,000 – 20,000 |
| DMCC company, AED 12m turnover, claiming QFZP | Bookkeeping, audit by an Approved Auditor, CT return | 25,000 – 60,000 |
| Designated Zone distributor, AED 30m turnover, claiming QFZP | Bookkeeping, audit, ISRS 4400 report, CT return | Audit-tier cost plus a separately quoted AUP engagement |
The gap between the first row and the second is the honest answer to “which zone is cheaper”. It is rarely the licence. It is the audit that the zone’s rules and your own QFZP election combine to force, and the size of the auditor pool you are then allowed to choose from.
Two dates hold the whole schedule together, and both sit in our UAE corporate tax filing deadlines calendar: the corporate tax return is due within nine months of the end of the tax period, and records must be kept for seven years. If you distribute from a Designated Zone, add the third date, the agreed-upon procedures report, 30 days after that filing deadline.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is there a government fee to register for UAE corporate tax?
No. Corporate tax registration is completed through the EmaraTax portal and the FTA does not charge a registration fee, nor a fee to file the annual return. Any amount you pay at registration is a service provider’s fee for handling the submission. What the FTA does charge is an AED 10,000 administrative penalty for failing to submit the registration application within the required timeframe, added to the penalty schedule by Cabinet Decision No. 10 of 2024.
Does every free zone company need an audit for corporate tax?
Not every one, but every Qualifying Free Zone Person does, at any revenue level. Ministerial Decision No. 84 of 2025 requires audited financial statements from a QFZP with no threshold attached, and separately from any taxable person that is not a tax group and derives revenue above AED 50 million. A free zone company that does not claim QFZP status and earns under AED 50 million is not required by that decision to be audited for corporate tax purposes, though its free zone authority may still require accounts.
What is the ISRS 4400 report and does it replace my audit?
It does not replace it; it is an additional engagement. FTA Decision No. 6 of 2026 requires a Qualifying Free Zone Person distributing goods or materials in or from a Designated Zone to obtain an agreed-upon procedures report under ISRS 4400 on top of the annual audited financial statements. It may be performed by your statutory auditor or by another auditor licensed in the UAE, and it must reach the FTA within 30 days after the corporate tax return deadline. It applies to tax periods commencing on or after 1 January 2026.
Can a small IFZA company avoid audit fees entirely?
Only on the zone side, and only if both tests are met. IFZA accepts a Simplified Financial Statement on its own template where turnover for the completed financial year was AED 3 million or less and the company had nine or fewer employees at any point during that year. Fail either test and full audited statements are required. Crucially this concession is IFZA’s, not the FTA’s: claiming QFZP status still triggers the federal audit requirement regardless of size.
Why is a DMCC audit typically more expensive?
Because DMCC restricts who may sign it. Under the Approved Auditors Rules a member company must appoint an auditor registered with DMCCA and listed on the Approved Auditors List, and DMCC requires the audited statements plus a signed and stamped Summary Sheet within six months of the financial year end. A smaller pool of eligible firms means less price competition. The rules do not apply to auditors of DMCC branch companies that have a group auditor.
What happens if I miss a QFZP condition?
You lose Qualifying Free Zone Person status for that tax period and for the four subsequent tax periods, five in total rather than one. Non-qualifying income is then taxed at 9% with no AED 375,000 zero-rate band, because that band does not apply to a QFZP in the first place. For most qualifying businesses this is by a wide margin the largest compliance cost in this article, which is why the de minimis threshold, non-qualifying revenue no greater than the lower of AED 5 million or 5% of total revenue, is worth monitoring monthly rather than annually.
Do I need to appoint a registered tax agent?
No. Appointing a registered tax agent is optional under the corporate tax regime, not a legal requirement. Many free zone companies engage one for the initial QFZP analysis or where transfer pricing is involved, but it is a commercial decision. Budget it as optional professional advice rather than as a compliance cost you cannot avoid.
Sources: Ministerial Decision No. 84 of 2025 on Audited Financial Statements; Federal Tax Authority Decision No. 6 of 2026 on additional procedures for Qualifying Free Zone Persons distributing in or from a Designated Zone; Cabinet Decision No. 75 of 2023 as amended by Cabinet Decision No. 10 of 2024; DMCC Submission of Audited Financial Statements guidelines (April 2025) and Approved Auditors Rules; IFZA licence renewal financial statements FAQ; RAKEZ Free Zone Licence Renewal Checklist (Issue 04, January 2025). Figures given as indicative ranges are market observations, not regulated tariffs. This article is general information, not tax advice.
Image: Jumeirah Lake Towers, Dubai, home of the DMCC free zone. Photo by Molochmeditates, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons.
