HomeBlogFree Zone Customs Code Registration Compared 2026: Which Zones Include It and What It Costs

Free Zone Customs Code Registration Compared 2026: Which Zones Include It and What It Costs

Free Zone Customs Code Registration Compared 2026: Which Zones Include It and What It Costs

By UAE Free Zone Compare Research Desk | August 2026

Every free zone brochure that advertises duty-free import describes a benefit you cannot actually use until you hold a customs code. The code — the number that ties your trade licence to a customs department’s declaration system — is what allows a customs declaration to be filed in your company’s name. Without one, your cargo clears under somebody else’s registration, at their margin, or it does not clear at all.

What almost nobody states plainly is who issues the code, whether your zone handles it, and what it genuinely costs. The short answer is that no UAE free zone issues customs codes — the emirate’s customs department does — and the officially published fees are a small fraction of the packages sold around them. This comparison sets out the verified fee for every emirate that publishes one, the zone-level differences that are real, and the two registration gates that stop applications cold.

Who issues a UAE customs code — the zone or the emirate?

Customs in the UAE is administered at emirate level. Each emirate runs its own customs department and its own registration portal, and each issues its own client code. Your free zone authority is not a party to that registration: it issues the trade licence that makes you eligible, and nothing more.

That produces a distinction worth internalising before you compare any prices. A free zone can bundle the paperwork service; it cannot bundle the registration. When a zone or an agent advertises a customs code “included” in a licence package, what is included is the submission work, not the code itself. The code is still issued by the customs department, against the same published fee, on the same portal.

The practical consequence: a code obtained through a zone’s service desk and a code obtained by logging in yourself are the same code, with the same validity. What differs is what you pay above the government fee, and how much of the process you have to learn.

What does a customs code cost in each emirate?

Three emirates publish the fee on an official service page. The others do not publish one that can be read without an account.

Emirate Issuing authority / channel New registration (published) Renewal (published) Stated turnaround
Dubai Dubai Customs, via the Dubai Trade portal AED 100 per business type + AED 20 knowledge and innovation fees Not stated separately on the registration FAQ Approval within 3 business days
Abu Dhabi Abu Dhabi Customs, via TAMM AED 100.00 AED 25.00 6 minutes (service duration)
Sharjah Sharjah Customs AED 100 AED 25 Not stated on the service page
Ajman, Ras Al Khaimah, Fujairah, Umm Al Quwain Each emirate’s own customs department No figure published on an openly accessible service page

Two things fall out of that table immediately.

First, the government fee is roughly AED 100 to AED 120, wherever it is published. If you have been quoted a four-figure sum for “customs code registration”, the overwhelming majority of that number is service margin, not government charge. That is not automatically bad value — the Dubai process in particular has genuine failure modes, covered below — but you should know which part of the invoice is which.

Second, the widely repeated “AED 25 renewal” figure is an Abu Dhabi and Sharjah number, not a Dubai one. Dubai Trade’s registration FAQ states a single charge — AED 100 per business type plus AED 20 knowledge and innovation fees — and does not publish a separate reduced renewal rate on that page. Budget the Dubai renewal at the registration rate until Dubai Customs tells you otherwise in writing.

Abu Dhabi is the only one of the three that states validity explicitly: its renewal service exists to renew the number after one year of registration, which fixes the code’s life at twelve months. Treat one year as the working assumption everywhere and diarise the renewal against your licence renewal, not separately.

Does any free zone actually include the code in its package?

One group does, partially, and it is not the group most people expect. Dubai Trade — the portal through which Dubai Customs registration runs — treats licences from a specific set of zones differently from every other Dubai free zone licence.

Licence issued by Dubai Trade portal account Portal activation fee Separate Dubai Customs registration still required?
Jafza, National Industries Park, Dubai Auto Zone, Textile City Created automatically on licence issue None — no registration fee for free zone company account activation Yes — you link the existing login at the customs registration step
Any other Dubai free zone (DMCC, DAFZA, Meydan, IFZA, DWTC, DSO and the rest) You register yourself Governed by the Dubai Customs registration fee Yes
A free zone in another emirate You register yourself Governed by the Dubai Customs registration fee Yes, if you want to clear through Dubai

So the honest version of “included” is narrow: if your licence comes from Jafza, NIP, the Dubai Auto Zone or Textile City, the portal account arrives with the licence at no charge, and you skip a registration step everyone else has to complete. The customs registration itself is still a separate application with its own fee, for every zone without exception.

Compare UAE Freezone costs instantly →

The business type choice that decides whether you need a facility registration

This is the single most consequential field in the Dubai application, and it is decided by where your licence was issued rather than by what you intend to trade.

Your licence Business type to select Facility registration
Issued by a Dubai-based free zone authority “Free Zone” Mandatory — you must also register a facility as “Free Zone”
Issued by another emirate’s free zone authority “Importer and Exporter” Not mandatory
Industrial licence from the Ministry “Importer (Industrial) and Exporter (Commercial)”, licence type “Industrial” Per the industrial route

The asymmetry is counter-intuitive and it is worth reading twice. A Dubai free zone company faces the heavier registration — business type “Free Zone” plus a mandatory facility record tying the code to physical premises inside the zone. A company licensed in, say, Sharjah or Ras Al Khaimah registering to clear through Dubai selects “Importer and Exporter” and registers no facility at all.

The fee is also charged per business type. If your operation genuinely needs two — a trading registration and a cargo handler or shipping agent registration, for instance — you pay the AED 100 twice, plus the single AED 20. Most single-entity traders need one.

The two gates that stop applications, and the deposit myth

Neither of the following appears in a fee table, and between them they account for most of the delay founders experience.

Gate one: residence visas. Dubai Customs registration requires you to enter the residence permit details of the owner and/or the authorised person. Dubai Trade states plainly that you will not be able to proceed with the registration otherwise. In practice this means a newly incorporated free zone company cannot obtain its customs code until at least one visa is issued and stamped. If your setup plan has goods arriving before the founder’s residence visa completes, the plan does not work. Sequence the visa first, and hold your first shipment date until the code is live.

Gate two: the licence activity. Registration is keyed to your trade licence, and business types map onto what that licence permits — Dubai Trade’s own registration routes require, for example, a licence carrying a “Customs Broker” activity to register as a broker, and land transportation or haulage activities to register as a haulier. The same logic applies to trading registration, so confirm your licence carries a goods activity before you pay for anything. Adding an activity after the fact costs a licence amendment and restarts your timeline.

The deposit myth. A refundable deposit is one of the most commonly quoted line items in customs-code sales material. Dubai Trade’s registration FAQ states the opposite: there is no longer a requirement to pay a deposit to Dubai Customs for customs broker or clearing agent registration. If a deposit appears on your quote, ask which authority is holding it and against what published rule.

What each emirate asks you to upload

Document lists are short and largely consistent, but the differences reveal how much identity verification each portal does for you.

Emirate Documents named on the official service page
Dubai Valid trade licence copy; passport, Emirates ID, residence permit and labour card copies of the authorised person and owner; undertaking letter for the importer (template in the application). At least one owner and one authorised person must be registered.
Abu Dhabi Trade licence — except for licences issued by the Department of Economic Development; the authorisation, if a customs broker is submitting; Emirates ID where someone applies on another’s behalf. Login is via UAE PASS.
Sharjah Copy of the company licence; copy of the PRO ID or customs ID; company stamp.

The Abu Dhabi exception is quietly informative. TAMM pulls DED-issued licences from government records automatically, which is exactly why a free zone licence has to be uploaded manually — free zone registers sit outside that integration. It is a one-field difference, but it is the reason free zone applications occasionally stall on a document a mainland applicant never sees.

Dubai’s list is the longest by a distance, and the labour card requirement is the item that most often turns out to be missing. Assemble all four identity documents for both the owner and the authorised person before you open the application rather than part-way through it.

After approval: what the code does and does not give you

In Dubai, once the fee is paid an agent code and business code are generated and the Dubai Trade login is activated. That is not yet the end of the setup. To submit customs declarations through Mirsal 2 you must create users with the appropriate representative role, and apply for a digital certificate for every user who will file declarations. Teams that budget for the code but not for the certificates discover the gap on their first shipment.

The code also does not confer duty treatment. Duty exemption inside a free zone flows from the zone’s designated status and the movement type on the declaration, not from holding a registration — our UAE free zone customs and import export guide covers how those movements are treated. And a code issued in one emirate does not automatically clear cargo in another; if you import through more than one port authority, expect to register with more than one customs department.

How this compares with the other zone-level charges

Customs registration is unusually cheap and unusually federal. That makes it a poor axis on which to choose a free zone, and a useful contrast with the charges that genuinely vary by zone.

Cost item Set by Varies by zone?
Customs client code Emirate customs department No — identical for every zone in that emirate
Licence and establishment card Free zone authority Yes, substantially
E-channel / immigration registration Free zone authority or immigration Yes — see our free zone e-channel fees comparison
Mainland access Emirate economic department Yes — see free zone dual licence eligibility compared

If you are weighing zones for an import-export business, the decisions that move real money are the licence cost, the visa quota, the warehousing rate and whether the zone is designated for VAT purposes. The customs code will cost you about AED 120 whichever one you pick.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do all free zone companies need a customs code?

Only those that physically move goods. A consultancy, an agency or a software company that never imports or exports does not need one. If you take delivery of goods into the UAE, ship them out, or move them between free zones, you need a code with the customs department handling that port.

How much does a UAE customs code cost?

Where the fee is published, it is AED 100 for a new registration — AED 100.00 in Abu Dhabi via TAMM, AED 100 in Sharjah, and AED 100 per business type plus AED 20 in knowledge and innovation fees in Dubai. Abu Dhabi and Sharjah both publish a renewal fee of AED 25. Ajman, Ras Al Khaimah, Fujairah and Umm Al Quwain do not publish an openly accessible figure, so request theirs in writing.

Which free zone includes the customs code in its licence package?

None includes the registration itself. Jafza, National Industries Park, Dubai Auto Zone and Textile City licence holders are registered on the Dubai Trade portal automatically when the licence is issued, at no activation fee, which removes one step — but the Dubai Customs business registration remains a separate, chargeable application for every zone.

Can I get a customs code before my residence visa is issued?

Not in Dubai. The registration requires residence permit details for the owner and/or authorised person, and Dubai Trade states you cannot proceed without them. Plan for the visa to complete before your first shipment arrives.

How long does customs registration take?

Dubai Customs states approval within three business days of a complete submission, after which you pay and the codes are generated. Abu Dhabi lists the TAMM service at six minutes of processing for an application submitted with UAE PASS and complete documents. Neither figure includes time spent assembling documents or fixing a licence that lacks the right activity.

Does one customs code work across the whole UAE?

No. Customs is administered emirate by emirate, and the code is issued by the customs department of the emirate you registered with. Importing through ports in a second emirate generally means registering with that emirate’s customs department too.

Is the AED 5,000 customs deposit still required?

Dubai Trade states there is no longer a requirement to pay a deposit to Dubai Customs for customs broker or clearing agent registration. If a deposit appears on a quotation, ask which authority holds it and under which published rule before paying.

Before you apply

Check Why it matters
At least one residence visa is issued and stamped Dubai registration cannot proceed without residence permit details
Your licence carries a goods-related activity Business types map onto licensed activities; amendments restart the timeline
You know how many business types you need The Dubai fee is charged per business type
Owner and authorised person documents are complete Dubai requires passport, Emirates ID, residence permit and labour card for both
Digital certificates are budgeted Every user filing declarations in Mirsal 2 needs one
Renewal is diarised at twelve months Abu Dhabi renews after one year; treat that as the working assumption elsewhere

Verify every figure above against the relevant customs portal before you budget. Published fees change, and the emirates that publish nothing are precisely the ones where a written quotation matters most.